Review: Physician’s Formula Murumuru Butter Bronzer in Light Bronze

IMG_7465

This is another YouTube-inspired purchase – the drugstore bronzer that everyone is raving about. I picked this up in April after months of hearing good reviews about it, and it took me a while to really get around to trying it for the sole reason that people warn you about – the scent.

I knew going in that there was a strong scent associated with the product; every single YouTuber who reviewed it mentioned this, but it was described as a coconut scent, like that of a pina colata or a tropical sunscreen. Here’s my problem – to me, it doesn’t smell like any pina colata I have ever had, nor any sunscreen I have ever used. It’s a distinct, sharp smell that I don’t even know how to describe. It radiates from the product too; when I open my makeup drawer, I can immediately smell it. Maybe I am just sensitive to smells, but for, it’s a very in-your-face scent.

IMG_7466

Barring that, the product itself is great. It picks up easily on the brush and blends in like a dream. I picked up the shade light bronze, which is the newer of the two shades, but I think it suits my current skin tone quite well.

IMG_7467

The underside of the packaging has a mirror and a sponge applicator. I have tried using the applicator, but it doesn’t blend very well, so I prefer using a fluffy brush to blend it in.

IMG_7471

The above swatches are the butter bronzer in light bronze, Benefit’s Hoola bronzer, and Tarte’s Park Ave Princess bronzer. As you can see, the butter bronzer is lighter and warmer compared to the other two bronzers. In fact, I think light bronze might be a closer match to Hoola Lite, but as I do not have Hoola Lite, I can’t say for certain.

All-in-all, I like the shade and the application of the Murumuru Butter Bronzer, and I am gradually get used to the scent of it. For those with sensitive noses, you may want to pass just based on the scent alone. Otherwise, a great option from the drugstore to get that summer bronze.

Leave a Reply

