Review: Wet n Wild Photo Focus Foundation

IMG_7621

When my best friend mentioned that the Wet n Wild Photo Focus Foundation was a dupe for the Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation, I was sold. I headed straight to my local Walmart to pick it up and while I was there, I also picked up the concealer and pressed powder from the same line to test out. The foundation retails for about $7 CDN, and comes in 20 shades, at least on the Wet n Wild website.

Wet n Wild is not the most accessible brand here in Canada. The only store that carries it near me is Walmart, and oftentimes their shelves are bare, so it took me two trips to get the right shade of foundation for me. I first tried Rose Ivory (light cool shade) but it ended up being too pink for me. I then exchanged it for Nude Ivory (light neutral shade), which was a much better match.

IMG_7625

The formulation is medium coverage that can be built up to full. It has a thin consistency and smells like paint to be honest, but luckily the smell doesn’t linger once applied to the face. The bottle comes with an applicator, which is a step up from a pour bottle, but I just use the applicator to transfer foundation to the back of my hand anyway. I use a beauty blender to apply it, as it was pretty streaky the one time I tried using a brush.

IMG_7624

The foundation claims to have a matte finish, and it definitely does settle matte on the skin. I find that I have to work quickly to blend it in before it starts to set, so I have to work with a small section at a time. I have oily skin, and usually matte foundations work out pretty well for me, but this particular one seems to actually make my skin look dry upon initial application when I use it with one of my mattifying setting powders. However, it looks great when used with the Photo Focus Pressed Powder, but starts to break up on my skin at the  3-hour mark. It’s a trade off that I have to consider every time I wear this foundation, so what I usually end up doing is using the Photo Focus Powder for days where I am only out and about for a couple of hours, and a mattifying powder like the Rimmel Stay Matte or the Essence Mattifying Compact Powder when I have to go to work.

My thoughts on the foundation? For me personally, it’s not worth the effort. It takes me longer to apply my foundation in the morning because I have to keep going back to the bottle instead of being able to just put a dab on the back of my hand since it dries so quickly. It doesn’t last on my nose either, which is admittedly a common problem that I have with most foundations, but it doesn’t even wear away gracefully. My nose is constantly looking patchy after even an hour’s wear, regardless of whether I wear a primer underneath or not. At the end of a longer day, more often than not my face looks like a hot mess, oily down the T-zone and dry on the sides of my face. It does have good coverage, but I find that it sinks into some of the fine lines that I’m starting to develop around my eyes.

I feel like I have given this foundation a good trial. I’ve tried changing up my sunscreen and moisturizer, tried it with and without primer, and with a few different powders, and I just can’t get it to work out for me. It’s disappointing because I have heard so many good reviews on it, and I honestly don’t remember seeing anyone not like it, so for me to struggle with it so much is discouraging. Also, upon speaking to my friend again, she admits that even though it goes on like the Luminous Silk Foundation, it doesn’t have the same lasting power as Luminous Silk, which I guess makes sense as you’re comparing a $7 foundation to a $66 foundation. For me though, this foundation was a flop.

One thought on “Review: Wet n Wild Photo Focus Foundation

  1. I totally sympathise with your disappointment. It can be disheartening when you think you’ve found a winner from rave reviews, but it just doesn’t work out for you. I haven’t personally tried this foundation, I think I might still give it a go considering the price, but I’ll keep your review in mind! 🙂

Leave a Reply

