Olay Regenerist Tone Perfecting Cream

2017-04-26 22.12.24

Olay is one of the brands I grew up with. My mom is the person who taught me the importance of taking care of my face, starting with patting it dry to avoid wrinkles and moisturizing religiously, both day and night. Growing up, I watched her repurchase Olay time and time again, way back when the brand went by Oil of Olay. In fact, the first moisturizer she ever purchased for me was also from Olay, which is why using these products is so nostalgic for me.

I have several spots of hyper-pigmentation on my chin area that are dark enough that sometimes concealer doesn’t even cover them completely. The Olay Regenerist Luminous Tone Perfecting Cream advertises that it “fades dark spots and evens skin tone over time” and “illuminates skin’s appearance to help recapture healthy-looking, youthful glow and help take years off your skin age”.

2017-04-26 22.12.51

The cream itself feels light-weight on the skin, and does a decent job at keeping my skin moisturized. Keeping in mind that I have oily skin, I rarely find my skin flaking during the day, even during the driest months of the year. It has a light scent, which is similar enough to their other facial moisturizers that it brings back memories, but I could see where it might be bothersome to someone who is sensitive to fragrance. The downside is that it comes in a jar, which isn’t the most hygienic form of packaging.

It absorbs fairly quickly into the skin, and layers well under sunscreen and foundation. It does go on with a bit of a white cast, but after massaging it into the skin and letting it absorb for about five minutes, it just leaves the face looking brighter with a slight glow. It’s main brightening ingredient appears to be niacinamide (a.k.a. vitamin B3), which according to The Beauty Brains is one of the anti-aging products that has evidence in terms of brightening the skin and helping with hyper-pigmentation.

2017-04-26 22.14.44

Having used this product for the last several months, I can say that I do like it as a morning moisturizer. I haven’t really seen a difference in the appearance of my dark spots, but I have noticed that my skin tone has evened out somewhat, and it leaves my skin looking glowy without being oily, which is a major concern of mine given the nature of my oily skin and my lack of opportunity to touch up during the work day.

Would I repurchase? Maybe. It is a good product, but as we head into the summer months, I will probably switch to a more mattifying moisturizer in an effort to avoid looking like a grease-ball. I will probably keep it at the back of my mind for next winter, as I did enjoy the glow it gave me during the drier months.

One thought on “Olay Regenerist Tone Perfecting Cream

  1. Pingback: June Empties | yours truly

Leave a Reply

